Six AMITA Health Hospitals Get Fall Leapfrog 'A' Grades

Media Contact

Tim Nelson, System Director, Communications and Media Relations, AMITA Health


Six AMITA Health Hospitals Nationally Recognized with “A” Grades in Fall 2021 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Ratings

Nov. 10, 2021 (Chicago, Ill.) — Six AMITA Health hospitals have been awarded “A” Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades for fall 2021.

By earning “A” grades through the organization’s biannual study, these hospitals rank among the safest in the nation. The AMITA Health hospitals are:

  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center GlenOaks
  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center Hinsdale
  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center La Grange
  • AMITA Health Mercy Medical Center Aurora
  • AMITA Health Resurrection Medical Center Chicago
  • AMITA Health Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center Chicago

All six hospitals were among 928 hospitals nationwide to earn the top score this reporting period. Notably, AMITA Health Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center has achieved an “A” rating for the past 17 consecutive reporting periods.

The Leapfrog Group, an independent national watchdog organization, assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D” or “F” grade to general hospitals across the country based on more than 30 national performance measures reflecting errors, injuries, accidents and infections, as well as systems hospitals have in place to prevent harm.

“Throughout this continuing pandemic, our physicians and associates have worked hard to bring the safest, highest quality of care to our patients and communities,” said Dr. David Bordo, chief clinical reliability officer for AMITA Health. “We are happy to have six of our acute care hospitals recognized nationally again this fall and are proud of all that went into this achievement.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital ratings program based exclusively on hospital prevention of medical errors and harms to patients. The grading system is peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually, in the fall and spring.

“An ‘A’ safety grade is an elite designation that your community should be proud of,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “The past year has been extraordinarily difficult for hospitals, but AMITA Health shows us it is possible to keep a laser focus on patients and their safety, no matter what it takes.”

For more information on the safety performance of individual AMITA Health hospitals and to access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit


About AMITA Health

AMITA Health ( is a joint operating company formed by AdventHealth in Altamonte Springs, Fla., and St. Louis-based Ascension. AMITA Health is one of the largest health systems in Illinois, comprising 19 hospitals and more than 230 sites of care. The health system has 900 providers in its medical groups, more than 26,000 associates and 7,000 physician partners and serves over 6.6 million residents in the greater Chicagoland area.

About The Leapfrog Group

Founded in 2000 by large employers and other purchasers, The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American healthcare. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey and new Leapfrog Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) Survey collect and transparently report hospital and ASC performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the life-saving information they need to make informed decisions. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, Leapfrog’s other main initiative, assigns letter grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping consumers protect themselves and their families from errors, injuries, accidents and infections.